IGNOU has 21 schools and 67 regional centres, 2667 study centres, and 29 overseas centres, where approx. 20% are enrolled for higher education in India. With more than 226 academia programs which includes certifications, diploma and degree for varied courses.

To make things easier for students, there are eleven major divisions which takes care of varied activities such as Academia and Coordination Division, Administrative Division, Construction and Maintenance, Computer Division, International Division, Finance and Accounts Division, Library and Documentation Division, Material Production and Distribution, Planning and Development Division, Regional Services Division, Student Evaluation Division and Student Registration Division.